You are here


Saturday, September 22, 2018
President Paula-Mae Weekes Photo by:Abraham Diaz


[email protected]

Wouldn’t it be just swell to see someone from your community, school, church or even your home receive a prestigious national award for their contribution to a cause? Well, you will have to wait until Monday when President of the Republic Paula-Mae Weekes hosts T&T 49th’s National Awards Ceremony at the National Academy for the Performing Arts (Napa) in Port-of-Spain.

The occasion is one to treasure each year as it ensures the good works of men do not go unrecognised or unrewarded.

In a release from the Office of the President, reminders to attending guests have been issued. They are reminded of the prompt start time, which is 6 pm, however, guests are to be seated no later than 5.30 pm and they may enter the venue as early as 4.45 pm.

While getting “dolled” up, ensure invites and picture IDs where necessary are the most important part of your evening’s accessories, as this can result in delay and even disappointment according to the release.

Attendees must also observe the various parking zones outlined. Awardees in tomorrow’s ceremony, as honoured guests, will park on Keate Street, between Charlotte Street and Chancery Lane, as this has been specially designated. Anyone parking at the savannah will be transported to Napa after they check in.

Upon arrival, guests are advised to ensure display of parking passes enshroud with their invitations visible on vehicle windshields. This is to access parking at either Napa (red) or the Paddock, Queen's Park Savannah (green), the release said.

All, whether arriving via a vehicle or by foot, are to enter Napa from the Frederick Street entrance.

The release said there would be some traffic restrictions taking effect from 3 pm to 9 pm. As such, motorists are advised to precisely observe these restrictions, which would be noticeable at the south-eastern end of the Queen’s Park Savannah encircling Memorial Park, Keate Street, and Napa.

The release also stated there was a particular interest shown by the general public in this year’s National Award, with that in mind, consideration would be given to extending a number of invitations to the public for next year’s ceremony.

Fact File:

National Awards were introduced in T&T in 1969 following Independence in 1962 to replace the honours given to citizens of the British Empire. From 1969 to 2006 the highest award was the Trinity Cross. In deference to the multiethnic, multi-religious composition of our twin islands, the Trinity Cross was replaced by the Order of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago in 2008.

There are five categories of National Awards:

• The Order of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago

•The Chaconia Medal

• The Hummingbird Medal

•The Public Service Medal of Merit

•The Medal for the Development of Women


User comments posted on this website are the sole views and opinions of the comment writer and are not representative of Guardian Media Limited or its staff.

Guardian Media Limited accepts no liability and will not be held accountable for user comments.

Guardian Media Limited reserves the right to remove, to edit or to censor any comments.

Any content which is considered unsuitable, unlawful or offensive, includes personal details, advertises or promotes products, services or websites or repeats previous comments will be removed.

Before posting, please refer to the Community Standards, Terms and conditions and Privacy Policy

User profiles registered through fake social media accounts may be deleted without notice.